Management Team

Md Tani Tabiin

Chief Executive Officer

Tani has a dynamic career spanning 25 years in academia, government and industry. As ex-GM, Temasek Life Sciences Accelerator, he helped incubatees, such as Hummingbird Biosciences, with a successful USD25M Series B. As Ex-COO, MiRXES, he raised seed funding of SGD4M and Series A USD40M, as well as established distributors in over 30 countries and closed RCAs worth over $20M.

Soh Jun Hui

Director of Operations

Jun Hui is an expert in rapid test kits/assays, infectious diseases diagnostics, food safety testing , nanomaterials, and biosensors. He was the Co-PI and Project Leader of multiple grants at NanoBio Lab (A*STAR). Jun Hui obtained his Ph.D. from the Imperial College London with the A*STAR Graduate Scholarship, and is actively commercializing various rapid test kits.

Enrique Balleza-Davila

Scientific Director

Enrique’s research experience includes microbiology and bacteria protein expression. He leads the efforts on the design and production of enzymes and antibodies for diagnostic assays and reagents. He received his Ph.D. in Physics, and was a Pew Latin American Fellow. He was a Research Associate in the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology at Harvard University, and a Senior Research Scientist at NanoBio Lab (A*STAR).

Md Nadjad Abd Rahim

Research Director

Nadjad specializes in developing multiplexed PCR assays and is the inventor of CEPAT – ultra-fast isothermal assay. He was the Project Leader of multiple grants at NanoBio Lab (A*STAR), and is a PI of a grant with the Singapore Food Agency (SFA) at Cellbae. Nadjad is completing his Ph.D. at the National University of Singapore with the A*STAR Graduate Scholarship, and is actively developing and commercializing various PCR assays.

Cellbae Founders / Directors

Prof. Jackie Y. Ying

Non-Executive Director, Founder

Prof. Ying is an inventor of > 180 primary patents and patent applications and Serial Founder of 8 spin-off companies. She was Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1992-2005), and Founding Executive Director of the Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (IBN) (2003-2018). Prof. Ying is currently A*STAR Senior Fellow leading the NanoBio Lab.

Noreena AbuBakar

Non-Executive Director, Founder

Noreena is the Founding Director of Corp Admin of IBN (2003-2018), and NanoBio Lab (2018-present). She is also the Founder of 2 spin-off companies.

Daniele Zink


Daniele is the Team Leader and Principal Research Scientist of IBN (2007-2018), and NanoBio Lab (2018-present). She was awarded the Lush Prize for Science for animal-free test to predict kidney drug toxicity in 2016.